Welcome!

Wow! Many of you are coming here because of today’s story in The State Newspaper!  Click here for a PDF of the article!

What a great story highlighting a great group of people! I’m glad to be a part of it!

Special thanks to Robin Nalepa and Jill Richards from The State for coming by and having fun with us last weekend!

Edited to add: many people have asked me why there isn’t a picture of me in the article. The photographer always picks out the best pictures for the articles so that may have had something to do with it. Also, I do a bit of freelance work for the newspaper and posting pics of me may fall in the “conflict of interest” category. I only do the police blotters and have never had a byline but they can get a bit touchy about that sort of thing so I was actually surprised that I was quoted so much. I actually expected it to focus more on the other members and mention me only briefly. This is all fine with me as I think that the pics that were chosen really show off the group well and the article was such a great way to bring attention to us!

6 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Wow, Allison, your blog is about to get slammed, I bet! We’re famous! 😉 I wish, however, they had used any other picture of me. I look crazed. See you this weekend (I’m working, so it will just be during my lunch hour)

  2. I think it is extraordinarily exciting! I’m a bit embarrassed of the photos they used of me in the print version (I am such a goofy looking girl) since I was doing a basic *garter* stitch scarf, and I had wondered why there weren’t any pics of you, the organizer extraordinaire (thanks for the clarification!)…Thanks for sharing!

  3. Been looking for knitters since half of my Charleston knitting group moved to DC, leaving me on my own. ( We were a knitting and international foods group, just the two of us, with my husband helping out on the eating part!) I just moved to Columbia a month ago. Will try to make it on the 5th of August. Great to know you are there.

Leave a Reply

